Key Approaches to Building Effective YouTube Collaborations for 2024

Key Approaches to Building Effective YouTube Collaborations for 2024

Joseph Lv13

Key Approaches to Building Effective YouTube Collaborations

YouTube Collaboration Guide to Find Partners and Make Collab Videos

Richard Bennett

Oct 26, 2023• Proven solutions

0

If you watch YouTube then you don’t need to be told why it’s a good idea for creators to collaborate. You get the chance to grow by being introduced to your partner’s audience, you make a friend to support and be supported by as you both grow your channels, and it always looks like a ton of fun. The question isn’t why you should collab, it’s how.

Finding someone to collab with, approaching them, and figuring out how to actually make the video can be all be challenging. Here are some tips:

  1. 6 Tips About Finding Collab Partners
  2. How to Ask Someone to Collab
  3. How to Make a Collab video
  4. Launching Your Collab

Best YouTube Video Editor–Wondershare Filmora

Wondershare Filmora has all the essential features needed by a PC video editing app like creating slideshows, trimming, merging, cropping, adding background music, rotating videos as well as some special features like APP, motion elements, animated texts, overlays, and filters, etc., and finally, the users can upload their edited video to YouTube directly. Just get started and create your own YouTube video with Wondershare Filmora!

Download Filmora9 Win Version Download Filmora9 Mac Version

6 Tips About Finding Collab Partners

Here are 6 questions you should ask yourself when you’re looking for potential collaborators on YouTube.

1. Who Are My Friends?

The easiest way to think of a potential collab partner is just to think of who you’re already friendly with. The best place to look for collab partners is probably in your list of subscribers. Someone who already knows what you do and enjoys it will probably be receptive to the idea of doing a video with you.

You can even sort your own subscribers by their sub counts to find someone with about the same sized channel as you.

2. Who’s In The Same Boat as Me?

You don’t have to already have a friendship, or even a creator-subscriber, relationship with someone to consider them as a potential partner (although it’s not a bad idea to subscribe to them before you send your request).

Consider people who are in the same niche as you who have approximately the same sized channel as you. If you’re in different genres the collab doesn’t make sense, and if there’s a significant size difference between your channels then it’s a lot more valuable to one of you than the other.

3. What Can This Person Offer My Audience?

Part of why you collaborate is to grow your audience, but that should never be at the expense of your current subscriber base. Before you reach out to a potential collab partner, seriously consider whether you think your audience will enjoy a video that features them.

Your partner should be someone who delivers content that is relevant to your own audience (for example, it makes no sense for a tech YouTuber to collaborate with someone whose channel is about cupcakes – their techie audience doesn’t want to learn about cupcakes).

4. Do I Like Their Videos?

Before you send anyone a message, make sure you’ve watched and enjoyed a few of their videos. If you don’t find them entertaining then your audience probably won’t either. Also, if you don’t seem to have any knowledge of someone’s content then they probably won’t want to work with you.

5. What Kind of Videos Could We Make?

The time to start brainstorming is not after you’ve already sent a collab request. You should think of a few ideas before you reach out, both to show your potential partner that you’re serious and to ensure that your audience is getting well-planned content.

6. Who’s in My Area?

You can do a long-distance collab, but if it is possible to physically meet up with someone to plan and shoot the videos then that’s way better.

How to Ask Someone to Collab

collab pitch examples

Here’s an example of a collab pitch, and a template you can use to write your own! It’s from filmora.io’s free YouTube Toolkit, which you can download with the Get Subs Guide here .

Here are some more tips:

1. Use Their Name

This one probably seems basic, but it is very easy to send a message where you just say ‘hey’ and jump to your point without actually using someone’s name. That’s a mistake in this scenario. You want to let your potential partner know that you are specifically interested in working with them and aren’t just fishing for anyone who might work with you.

2. Mention Their Content

Show an interest in your future partner’s videos. You should have watched at least a couple of them as part of deciding to reach out, so mention a video of theirs that you liked and talk about why. Let the other person know that you genuinely enjoy what they do and think your audience will too.

3. Pitch Video Ideas

You should have a couple of ideas for videos you could do together ready when you contact someone. You don’t want to reach out to someone and then seem like you expect them to do all the planning. You may not end up doing one of the ideas you pitch, but you’ll still come off better if you have something in mind when you first send your message.

4. Keep Your Message Simple

You don’t want to overwhelm someone with a huge amount of text the first time you contact them. Check out the example at the beginning of this section to get an idea of the length you should go for.

5. Be an Equal

Remember that you are just as wonderful a creator as the person you are approaching. You don’t want to fawn too heavily and cast yourself more as a fan than a serious creator in your own right (not that you can’t be both).

6. Most Creators Have an Email Address on Their Channel Page

It usually isn’t difficult to find contact information for a YouTuber. If you go to someone’s channel page and click into the About tab, there will usually be a section called ‘For business inquiries’ under ‘Details’. Click ‘View Email Address’ next to that and you’ll have a means of contacting the person you want to collaborate with.

You can also reach out through DMs or other social media. If you use a platform like Twitter, however, you may want to be a bit more casual and start a conversation before building up to asking them about a collab.

How to Make a Collab Video

Here are 3 ways you can collaborate with other YouTubers.

Shout Each Other Out

This is the easiest way to collab because you don’t have to meet up or do much planning together. Essentially, you just make your own video and let everyone know how much you like your partner’s channel (combined with linking your viewers to them), and they do the same.

Make sure to agree beforehand on how long you’ll spend plugging each other in your videos, so one of you doesn’t go on way longer than the other.

This probably isn’t a hugely effective method of collaborating if your goal is to grow (I wouldn’t check out someone’s channel just because I was told to), but it certainly is easy.

Be Guests in Each Other’s Videos

This might be the most fun type of collab to watch. The person whose channel the video appears on is the ‘host’ and the video is done in something closer to their usual style (which will be more appealing to their subscribers), and their collab partner is a guest. You might want to do two of these videos so you each have one for your own channel.

Depending on your YouTube niche, you might do a fun activity together or you might interview your guest about a subject you think your subscribers are interested in.

In order to pull off a collab like this, you need to be able to meet in person.

Long Distance Collaborations

It’s harder to collab if you can’t meet up, but it isn’t impossible. You can exchange footage to use in each other’s videos, or you can record a Google Hangout or Skype chat.

Launching Your Collab

Here are some tips for making sure both you and your partner get the most out of the collab videos you’ve made.

Agree on a Launch Date/Time

If you each have a video for your own channel then you want to make sure those go up at the same time. It’ll be awkward if you post your video and shout out your partner/their collab video and when people go to check that out it isn’t up.

You may want to post your videos as unlisted initially if you’re worried about one of you taking longer to upload. Then, once your videos are both completely ready to go, you can switch their listing to ‘public’ at the exact same time.

Promote Your Collab

Before you post your collab videos, you might want to build hype by mentioning the upcoming collab video in your solo videos leading up to it. If you and your partner are active on platforms like Instagram and Snapchat, you can do things like post behind the scenes pictures of your collab videos to generate excitement.

Comment on Each Other’s Videos

After you’ve posted your collabs, make sure to leave each other comments about how much fun it was working together. You might want to interact publicly on social media too. Overall, just be friends. You want to maintain this relationship to leave the door open to future collabs, and your viewers will want to believe in your friendship too. Your partner’s subscribers are more likely to be interested in you when they feel like you’re buddies with one of their favorite creators.

Make sure to discuss how much promotion you’ll each do for the collab before and after it launches. If one of you does a ton of promotion and the other just does one tweet, it won’t make the person who’s done way more promotion feel great.

Have you ever collaborated on YouTube? If you could collaborate with anyone, who would it be and what kind of video would you make?

author avatar

Richard Bennett

Richard Bennett is a writer and a lover of all things video.

Follow @Richard Bennett

Richard Bennett

Oct 26, 2023• Proven solutions

0

If you watch YouTube then you don’t need to be told why it’s a good idea for creators to collaborate. You get the chance to grow by being introduced to your partner’s audience, you make a friend to support and be supported by as you both grow your channels, and it always looks like a ton of fun. The question isn’t why you should collab, it’s how.

Finding someone to collab with, approaching them, and figuring out how to actually make the video can be all be challenging. Here are some tips:

  1. 6 Tips About Finding Collab Partners
  2. How to Ask Someone to Collab
  3. How to Make a Collab video
  4. Launching Your Collab

Best YouTube Video Editor–Wondershare Filmora

Wondershare Filmora has all the essential features needed by a PC video editing app like creating slideshows, trimming, merging, cropping, adding background music, rotating videos as well as some special features like APP, motion elements, animated texts, overlays, and filters, etc., and finally, the users can upload their edited video to YouTube directly. Just get started and create your own YouTube video with Wondershare Filmora!

Download Filmora9 Win Version Download Filmora9 Mac Version

6 Tips About Finding Collab Partners

Here are 6 questions you should ask yourself when you’re looking for potential collaborators on YouTube.

1. Who Are My Friends?

The easiest way to think of a potential collab partner is just to think of who you’re already friendly with. The best place to look for collab partners is probably in your list of subscribers. Someone who already knows what you do and enjoys it will probably be receptive to the idea of doing a video with you.

You can even sort your own subscribers by their sub counts to find someone with about the same sized channel as you.

2. Who’s In The Same Boat as Me?

You don’t have to already have a friendship, or even a creator-subscriber, relationship with someone to consider them as a potential partner (although it’s not a bad idea to subscribe to them before you send your request).

Consider people who are in the same niche as you who have approximately the same sized channel as you. If you’re in different genres the collab doesn’t make sense, and if there’s a significant size difference between your channels then it’s a lot more valuable to one of you than the other.

3. What Can This Person Offer My Audience?

Part of why you collaborate is to grow your audience, but that should never be at the expense of your current subscriber base. Before you reach out to a potential collab partner, seriously consider whether you think your audience will enjoy a video that features them.

Your partner should be someone who delivers content that is relevant to your own audience (for example, it makes no sense for a tech YouTuber to collaborate with someone whose channel is about cupcakes – their techie audience doesn’t want to learn about cupcakes).

4. Do I Like Their Videos?

Before you send anyone a message, make sure you’ve watched and enjoyed a few of their videos. If you don’t find them entertaining then your audience probably won’t either. Also, if you don’t seem to have any knowledge of someone’s content then they probably won’t want to work with you.

5. What Kind of Videos Could We Make?

The time to start brainstorming is not after you’ve already sent a collab request. You should think of a few ideas before you reach out, both to show your potential partner that you’re serious and to ensure that your audience is getting well-planned content.

6. Who’s in My Area?

You can do a long-distance collab, but if it is possible to physically meet up with someone to plan and shoot the videos then that’s way better.

How to Ask Someone to Collab

collab pitch examples

Here’s an example of a collab pitch, and a template you can use to write your own! It’s from filmora.io’s free YouTube Toolkit, which you can download with the Get Subs Guide here .

Here are some more tips:

1. Use Their Name

This one probably seems basic, but it is very easy to send a message where you just say ‘hey’ and jump to your point without actually using someone’s name. That’s a mistake in this scenario. You want to let your potential partner know that you are specifically interested in working with them and aren’t just fishing for anyone who might work with you.

2. Mention Their Content

Show an interest in your future partner’s videos. You should have watched at least a couple of them as part of deciding to reach out, so mention a video of theirs that you liked and talk about why. Let the other person know that you genuinely enjoy what they do and think your audience will too.

3. Pitch Video Ideas

You should have a couple of ideas for videos you could do together ready when you contact someone. You don’t want to reach out to someone and then seem like you expect them to do all the planning. You may not end up doing one of the ideas you pitch, but you’ll still come off better if you have something in mind when you first send your message.

4. Keep Your Message Simple

You don’t want to overwhelm someone with a huge amount of text the first time you contact them. Check out the example at the beginning of this section to get an idea of the length you should go for.

5. Be an Equal

Remember that you are just as wonderful a creator as the person you are approaching. You don’t want to fawn too heavily and cast yourself more as a fan than a serious creator in your own right (not that you can’t be both).

6. Most Creators Have an Email Address on Their Channel Page

It usually isn’t difficult to find contact information for a YouTuber. If you go to someone’s channel page and click into the About tab, there will usually be a section called ‘For business inquiries’ under ‘Details’. Click ‘View Email Address’ next to that and you’ll have a means of contacting the person you want to collaborate with.

You can also reach out through DMs or other social media. If you use a platform like Twitter, however, you may want to be a bit more casual and start a conversation before building up to asking them about a collab.

How to Make a Collab Video

Here are 3 ways you can collaborate with other YouTubers.

Shout Each Other Out

This is the easiest way to collab because you don’t have to meet up or do much planning together. Essentially, you just make your own video and let everyone know how much you like your partner’s channel (combined with linking your viewers to them), and they do the same.

Make sure to agree beforehand on how long you’ll spend plugging each other in your videos, so one of you doesn’t go on way longer than the other.

This probably isn’t a hugely effective method of collaborating if your goal is to grow (I wouldn’t check out someone’s channel just because I was told to), but it certainly is easy.

Be Guests in Each Other’s Videos

This might be the most fun type of collab to watch. The person whose channel the video appears on is the ‘host’ and the video is done in something closer to their usual style (which will be more appealing to their subscribers), and their collab partner is a guest. You might want to do two of these videos so you each have one for your own channel.

Depending on your YouTube niche, you might do a fun activity together or you might interview your guest about a subject you think your subscribers are interested in.

In order to pull off a collab like this, you need to be able to meet in person.

Long Distance Collaborations

It’s harder to collab if you can’t meet up, but it isn’t impossible. You can exchange footage to use in each other’s videos, or you can record a Google Hangout or Skype chat.

Launching Your Collab

Here are some tips for making sure both you and your partner get the most out of the collab videos you’ve made.

Agree on a Launch Date/Time

If you each have a video for your own channel then you want to make sure those go up at the same time. It’ll be awkward if you post your video and shout out your partner/their collab video and when people go to check that out it isn’t up.

You may want to post your videos as unlisted initially if you’re worried about one of you taking longer to upload. Then, once your videos are both completely ready to go, you can switch their listing to ‘public’ at the exact same time.

Promote Your Collab

Before you post your collab videos, you might want to build hype by mentioning the upcoming collab video in your solo videos leading up to it. If you and your partner are active on platforms like Instagram and Snapchat, you can do things like post behind the scenes pictures of your collab videos to generate excitement.

Comment on Each Other’s Videos

After you’ve posted your collabs, make sure to leave each other comments about how much fun it was working together. You might want to interact publicly on social media too. Overall, just be friends. You want to maintain this relationship to leave the door open to future collabs, and your viewers will want to believe in your friendship too. Your partner’s subscribers are more likely to be interested in you when they feel like you’re buddies with one of their favorite creators.

Make sure to discuss how much promotion you’ll each do for the collab before and after it launches. If one of you does a ton of promotion and the other just does one tweet, it won’t make the person who’s done way more promotion feel great.

Have you ever collaborated on YouTube? If you could collaborate with anyone, who would it be and what kind of video would you make?

author avatar

Richard Bennett

Richard Bennett is a writer and a lover of all things video.

Follow @Richard Bennett

Richard Bennett

Oct 26, 2023• Proven solutions

0

If you watch YouTube then you don’t need to be told why it’s a good idea for creators to collaborate. You get the chance to grow by being introduced to your partner’s audience, you make a friend to support and be supported by as you both grow your channels, and it always looks like a ton of fun. The question isn’t why you should collab, it’s how.

Finding someone to collab with, approaching them, and figuring out how to actually make the video can be all be challenging. Here are some tips:

  1. 6 Tips About Finding Collab Partners
  2. How to Ask Someone to Collab
  3. How to Make a Collab video
  4. Launching Your Collab

Best YouTube Video Editor–Wondershare Filmora

Wondershare Filmora has all the essential features needed by a PC video editing app like creating slideshows, trimming, merging, cropping, adding background music, rotating videos as well as some special features like APP, motion elements, animated texts, overlays, and filters, etc., and finally, the users can upload their edited video to YouTube directly. Just get started and create your own YouTube video with Wondershare Filmora!

Download Filmora9 Win Version Download Filmora9 Mac Version

6 Tips About Finding Collab Partners

Here are 6 questions you should ask yourself when you’re looking for potential collaborators on YouTube.

1. Who Are My Friends?

The easiest way to think of a potential collab partner is just to think of who you’re already friendly with. The best place to look for collab partners is probably in your list of subscribers. Someone who already knows what you do and enjoys it will probably be receptive to the idea of doing a video with you.

You can even sort your own subscribers by their sub counts to find someone with about the same sized channel as you.

2. Who’s In The Same Boat as Me?

You don’t have to already have a friendship, or even a creator-subscriber, relationship with someone to consider them as a potential partner (although it’s not a bad idea to subscribe to them before you send your request).

Consider people who are in the same niche as you who have approximately the same sized channel as you. If you’re in different genres the collab doesn’t make sense, and if there’s a significant size difference between your channels then it’s a lot more valuable to one of you than the other.

3. What Can This Person Offer My Audience?

Part of why you collaborate is to grow your audience, but that should never be at the expense of your current subscriber base. Before you reach out to a potential collab partner, seriously consider whether you think your audience will enjoy a video that features them.

Your partner should be someone who delivers content that is relevant to your own audience (for example, it makes no sense for a tech YouTuber to collaborate with someone whose channel is about cupcakes – their techie audience doesn’t want to learn about cupcakes).

4. Do I Like Their Videos?

Before you send anyone a message, make sure you’ve watched and enjoyed a few of their videos. If you don’t find them entertaining then your audience probably won’t either. Also, if you don’t seem to have any knowledge of someone’s content then they probably won’t want to work with you.

5. What Kind of Videos Could We Make?

The time to start brainstorming is not after you’ve already sent a collab request. You should think of a few ideas before you reach out, both to show your potential partner that you’re serious and to ensure that your audience is getting well-planned content.

6. Who’s in My Area?

You can do a long-distance collab, but if it is possible to physically meet up with someone to plan and shoot the videos then that’s way better.

How to Ask Someone to Collab

collab pitch examples

Here’s an example of a collab pitch, and a template you can use to write your own! It’s from filmora.io’s free YouTube Toolkit, which you can download with the Get Subs Guide here .

Here are some more tips:

1. Use Their Name

This one probably seems basic, but it is very easy to send a message where you just say ‘hey’ and jump to your point without actually using someone’s name. That’s a mistake in this scenario. You want to let your potential partner know that you are specifically interested in working with them and aren’t just fishing for anyone who might work with you.

2. Mention Their Content

Show an interest in your future partner’s videos. You should have watched at least a couple of them as part of deciding to reach out, so mention a video of theirs that you liked and talk about why. Let the other person know that you genuinely enjoy what they do and think your audience will too.

3. Pitch Video Ideas

You should have a couple of ideas for videos you could do together ready when you contact someone. You don’t want to reach out to someone and then seem like you expect them to do all the planning. You may not end up doing one of the ideas you pitch, but you’ll still come off better if you have something in mind when you first send your message.

4. Keep Your Message Simple

You don’t want to overwhelm someone with a huge amount of text the first time you contact them. Check out the example at the beginning of this section to get an idea of the length you should go for.

5. Be an Equal

Remember that you are just as wonderful a creator as the person you are approaching. You don’t want to fawn too heavily and cast yourself more as a fan than a serious creator in your own right (not that you can’t be both).

6. Most Creators Have an Email Address on Their Channel Page

It usually isn’t difficult to find contact information for a YouTuber. If you go to someone’s channel page and click into the About tab, there will usually be a section called ‘For business inquiries’ under ‘Details’. Click ‘View Email Address’ next to that and you’ll have a means of contacting the person you want to collaborate with.

You can also reach out through DMs or other social media. If you use a platform like Twitter, however, you may want to be a bit more casual and start a conversation before building up to asking them about a collab.

How to Make a Collab Video

Here are 3 ways you can collaborate with other YouTubers.

Shout Each Other Out

This is the easiest way to collab because you don’t have to meet up or do much planning together. Essentially, you just make your own video and let everyone know how much you like your partner’s channel (combined with linking your viewers to them), and they do the same.

Make sure to agree beforehand on how long you’ll spend plugging each other in your videos, so one of you doesn’t go on way longer than the other.

This probably isn’t a hugely effective method of collaborating if your goal is to grow (I wouldn’t check out someone’s channel just because I was told to), but it certainly is easy.

Be Guests in Each Other’s Videos

This might be the most fun type of collab to watch. The person whose channel the video appears on is the ‘host’ and the video is done in something closer to their usual style (which will be more appealing to their subscribers), and their collab partner is a guest. You might want to do two of these videos so you each have one for your own channel.

Depending on your YouTube niche, you might do a fun activity together or you might interview your guest about a subject you think your subscribers are interested in.

In order to pull off a collab like this, you need to be able to meet in person.

Long Distance Collaborations

It’s harder to collab if you can’t meet up, but it isn’t impossible. You can exchange footage to use in each other’s videos, or you can record a Google Hangout or Skype chat.

Launching Your Collab

Here are some tips for making sure both you and your partner get the most out of the collab videos you’ve made.

Agree on a Launch Date/Time

If you each have a video for your own channel then you want to make sure those go up at the same time. It’ll be awkward if you post your video and shout out your partner/their collab video and when people go to check that out it isn’t up.

You may want to post your videos as unlisted initially if you’re worried about one of you taking longer to upload. Then, once your videos are both completely ready to go, you can switch their listing to ‘public’ at the exact same time.

Promote Your Collab

Before you post your collab videos, you might want to build hype by mentioning the upcoming collab video in your solo videos leading up to it. If you and your partner are active on platforms like Instagram and Snapchat, you can do things like post behind the scenes pictures of your collab videos to generate excitement.

Comment on Each Other’s Videos

After you’ve posted your collabs, make sure to leave each other comments about how much fun it was working together. You might want to interact publicly on social media too. Overall, just be friends. You want to maintain this relationship to leave the door open to future collabs, and your viewers will want to believe in your friendship too. Your partner’s subscribers are more likely to be interested in you when they feel like you’re buddies with one of their favorite creators.

Make sure to discuss how much promotion you’ll each do for the collab before and after it launches. If one of you does a ton of promotion and the other just does one tweet, it won’t make the person who’s done way more promotion feel great.

Have you ever collaborated on YouTube? If you could collaborate with anyone, who would it be and what kind of video would you make?

author avatar

Richard Bennett

Richard Bennett is a writer and a lover of all things video.

Follow @Richard Bennett

Richard Bennett

Oct 26, 2023• Proven solutions

0

If you watch YouTube then you don’t need to be told why it’s a good idea for creators to collaborate. You get the chance to grow by being introduced to your partner’s audience, you make a friend to support and be supported by as you both grow your channels, and it always looks like a ton of fun. The question isn’t why you should collab, it’s how.

Finding someone to collab with, approaching them, and figuring out how to actually make the video can be all be challenging. Here are some tips:

  1. 6 Tips About Finding Collab Partners
  2. How to Ask Someone to Collab
  3. How to Make a Collab video
  4. Launching Your Collab

Best YouTube Video Editor–Wondershare Filmora

Wondershare Filmora has all the essential features needed by a PC video editing app like creating slideshows, trimming, merging, cropping, adding background music, rotating videos as well as some special features like APP, motion elements, animated texts, overlays, and filters, etc., and finally, the users can upload their edited video to YouTube directly. Just get started and create your own YouTube video with Wondershare Filmora!

Download Filmora9 Win Version Download Filmora9 Mac Version

6 Tips About Finding Collab Partners

Here are 6 questions you should ask yourself when you’re looking for potential collaborators on YouTube.

1. Who Are My Friends?

The easiest way to think of a potential collab partner is just to think of who you’re already friendly with. The best place to look for collab partners is probably in your list of subscribers. Someone who already knows what you do and enjoys it will probably be receptive to the idea of doing a video with you.

You can even sort your own subscribers by their sub counts to find someone with about the same sized channel as you.

2. Who’s In The Same Boat as Me?

You don’t have to already have a friendship, or even a creator-subscriber, relationship with someone to consider them as a potential partner (although it’s not a bad idea to subscribe to them before you send your request).

Consider people who are in the same niche as you who have approximately the same sized channel as you. If you’re in different genres the collab doesn’t make sense, and if there’s a significant size difference between your channels then it’s a lot more valuable to one of you than the other.

3. What Can This Person Offer My Audience?

Part of why you collaborate is to grow your audience, but that should never be at the expense of your current subscriber base. Before you reach out to a potential collab partner, seriously consider whether you think your audience will enjoy a video that features them.

Your partner should be someone who delivers content that is relevant to your own audience (for example, it makes no sense for a tech YouTuber to collaborate with someone whose channel is about cupcakes – their techie audience doesn’t want to learn about cupcakes).

4. Do I Like Their Videos?

Before you send anyone a message, make sure you’ve watched and enjoyed a few of their videos. If you don’t find them entertaining then your audience probably won’t either. Also, if you don’t seem to have any knowledge of someone’s content then they probably won’t want to work with you.

5. What Kind of Videos Could We Make?

The time to start brainstorming is not after you’ve already sent a collab request. You should think of a few ideas before you reach out, both to show your potential partner that you’re serious and to ensure that your audience is getting well-planned content.

6. Who’s in My Area?

You can do a long-distance collab, but if it is possible to physically meet up with someone to plan and shoot the videos then that’s way better.

How to Ask Someone to Collab

collab pitch examples

Here’s an example of a collab pitch, and a template you can use to write your own! It’s from filmora.io’s free YouTube Toolkit, which you can download with the Get Subs Guide here .

Here are some more tips:

1. Use Their Name

This one probably seems basic, but it is very easy to send a message where you just say ‘hey’ and jump to your point without actually using someone’s name. That’s a mistake in this scenario. You want to let your potential partner know that you are specifically interested in working with them and aren’t just fishing for anyone who might work with you.

2. Mention Their Content

Show an interest in your future partner’s videos. You should have watched at least a couple of them as part of deciding to reach out, so mention a video of theirs that you liked and talk about why. Let the other person know that you genuinely enjoy what they do and think your audience will too.

3. Pitch Video Ideas

You should have a couple of ideas for videos you could do together ready when you contact someone. You don’t want to reach out to someone and then seem like you expect them to do all the planning. You may not end up doing one of the ideas you pitch, but you’ll still come off better if you have something in mind when you first send your message.

4. Keep Your Message Simple

You don’t want to overwhelm someone with a huge amount of text the first time you contact them. Check out the example at the beginning of this section to get an idea of the length you should go for.

5. Be an Equal

Remember that you are just as wonderful a creator as the person you are approaching. You don’t want to fawn too heavily and cast yourself more as a fan than a serious creator in your own right (not that you can’t be both).

6. Most Creators Have an Email Address on Their Channel Page

It usually isn’t difficult to find contact information for a YouTuber. If you go to someone’s channel page and click into the About tab, there will usually be a section called ‘For business inquiries’ under ‘Details’. Click ‘View Email Address’ next to that and you’ll have a means of contacting the person you want to collaborate with.

You can also reach out through DMs or other social media. If you use a platform like Twitter, however, you may want to be a bit more casual and start a conversation before building up to asking them about a collab.

How to Make a Collab Video

Here are 3 ways you can collaborate with other YouTubers.

Shout Each Other Out

This is the easiest way to collab because you don’t have to meet up or do much planning together. Essentially, you just make your own video and let everyone know how much you like your partner’s channel (combined with linking your viewers to them), and they do the same.

Make sure to agree beforehand on how long you’ll spend plugging each other in your videos, so one of you doesn’t go on way longer than the other.

This probably isn’t a hugely effective method of collaborating if your goal is to grow (I wouldn’t check out someone’s channel just because I was told to), but it certainly is easy.

Be Guests in Each Other’s Videos

This might be the most fun type of collab to watch. The person whose channel the video appears on is the ‘host’ and the video is done in something closer to their usual style (which will be more appealing to their subscribers), and their collab partner is a guest. You might want to do two of these videos so you each have one for your own channel.

Depending on your YouTube niche, you might do a fun activity together or you might interview your guest about a subject you think your subscribers are interested in.

In order to pull off a collab like this, you need to be able to meet in person.

Long Distance Collaborations

It’s harder to collab if you can’t meet up, but it isn’t impossible. You can exchange footage to use in each other’s videos, or you can record a Google Hangout or Skype chat.

Launching Your Collab

Here are some tips for making sure both you and your partner get the most out of the collab videos you’ve made.

Agree on a Launch Date/Time

If you each have a video for your own channel then you want to make sure those go up at the same time. It’ll be awkward if you post your video and shout out your partner/their collab video and when people go to check that out it isn’t up.

You may want to post your videos as unlisted initially if you’re worried about one of you taking longer to upload. Then, once your videos are both completely ready to go, you can switch their listing to ‘public’ at the exact same time.

Promote Your Collab

Before you post your collab videos, you might want to build hype by mentioning the upcoming collab video in your solo videos leading up to it. If you and your partner are active on platforms like Instagram and Snapchat, you can do things like post behind the scenes pictures of your collab videos to generate excitement.

Comment on Each Other’s Videos

After you’ve posted your collabs, make sure to leave each other comments about how much fun it was working together. You might want to interact publicly on social media too. Overall, just be friends. You want to maintain this relationship to leave the door open to future collabs, and your viewers will want to believe in your friendship too. Your partner’s subscribers are more likely to be interested in you when they feel like you’re buddies with one of their favorite creators.

Make sure to discuss how much promotion you’ll each do for the collab before and after it launches. If one of you does a ton of promotion and the other just does one tweet, it won’t make the person who’s done way more promotion feel great.

Have you ever collaborated on YouTube? If you could collaborate with anyone, who would it be and what kind of video would you make?

author avatar

Richard Bennett

Richard Bennett is a writer and a lover of all things video.

Follow @Richard Bennett

Free YouTube Money Calculators-Calculate YouTube Money

Free YouTube Money Calculators-Calculate YouTube Money

author avatar

Shanoon Cox

Mar 27, 2024• Proven solutions

Most YouTubers get started simply because they love to make videos, to be the center of attention, and to have such a creative outlet for their ideas. However, for almost all YouTubers, their mind will soon turn to whether they can make money from YouTube , and how much they could be making.

If you’re curious about how much money you could make from your channel, or just want to see what the potential is for creating a revenue stream once you’ve built your audience, we’ve got just the thing for you. We’ve developed this YouTube Money Calculator, a simple tool that lets you see at a glance how much you could be earning from your videos and channel. And we will also introduce some YouTube Money Calculator alternatives to you.

Table of Content:

You May Also Like: YouTube SEO Complete Guide

Let’s take a look at the YouTube Money Calculator now and explore your potential for generating income from your passion for YouTube.

Part 1: What’s a CPM and How Do YouTube Money Calculators Average It Out?

CPM stands for ‘cost per mille/thousand’ and is the price of a thousand ad impressions (to the advertiser. For the creator, this is the amount of money they make per thousand ad impressions).

YouTube calculators will never be able to know the CPM for a YouTube channel as the rates vary for different channels and different ads. Disclosing your CPM is against the rules, so there’s not a lot of information out there to go on.

However, by taking an average of some of the current CPM rates from advertisers on YouTube, calculators are able to average out what a YouTube channel could be making. Keep in mind that, usually, the numbers that they use can be a bit on the high side compared to actual earnings. At times, though, these calculators can be very close.

Part 2: The Free YouTube Money Calculator

The YouTube Money Calculator is a free calculator tool that allows you to estimate the money obtained from any YouTube video. Calculations are entirely based on the number of views and an average CPM of $2 - $5. A user just needs to insert the total number of video views that they think they can get or that another channel has to discover how much a person could earn or be earning.

If you don’t know your CPM yet, don’t worry because our tool can give you an estimated revenue calculation based on a commonly accepted range of CPM figures for your views. Using this number, the YouTube Money Calculator can give you potential revenue by video as well as by channel on a daily, monthly, and yearly basis. Let’s take a look:

1. Estimated YouTube Revenue by Videos

To use YouTube Money Calculator to get an estimated calculation of your revenue for a single video, simply set the number of views you get per day (or hope to get) and the CPM rates. If you don’t know your CPM, the tool will automatically select a typical range based on the number of views.

From here you can start to play around and see what the impact could be of a different number of views and different CPM range. Do keep in mind that these figures are estimated, and there are many factors that come into play to determine your final CPM rate.

If you want to go deeper into your research and discover how much revenue a specific video could make, you can simply paste in the URL of the video you want to investigate, and the YouTube Money Calculator will show you the results. These will be presented as the number of total video views as well as the estimated earnings for that video based on typical CPM rates, making it a great resource to establish whether to monetize a video or not.

2. Estimated YouTube Revenue by Channel

If you’d like a more complete view of your YouTube earnings potential, why not investigate the revenue possibilities for the whole channel? Simply paste your channel link into the box and our tool will estimate how much you could be earning if you monetize that channel.

As well as showing this, the tool will show all sorts of other useful information such as number of total views, number of subscribers, number of uploaded videos and even your country and category. It’s a great place to start to evaluate your efforts and to get a realistic idea of what your earnings could be.

Part 3: Free YouTube Money Calculator Alternatives

Some of the best YouTube Money Calculator alternatives available are:

1. How Social Blade Calculates YouTube Money

Social Blade delivers a calculation based on a CPM rate between .25 cents and $4 USD. Users need only type in the name of the channel they are interested in and Social Blade will deliver all kinds of information about that channel, like how many subscribers and views it received in the last 30 days. It will also include estimates of monthly and yearly earnings. The revenue results are adjusted based off of the overall size of the channel and the total number of views that they receive each day. You can even scroll down for estimates of daily earnings listed by date.

2. How Influencer Marketing Hub Calculates YouTube Money

Influencer Marketing Hub is almost like an active infographic that allows a user to very quickly adjust sliders based on the daily video views, active engagement, views per month, and views per year.

Part 4: How is YouTube Partner Money Calculated?

YouTube partner money is calculated using something called the CPM. Your CPM, if you’re new to YouTube and partner advertising, is likely to be quite low, but can be built up over time.

CPM is actually a term for advertisers rather than content creators, as it denotes the amount an advertiser pays to serve its ad to 1,000 views of a video. What you really want to know is your RPM, or revenue per thousand, which is about how much you’ll get paid for 1,000 views of that ad. In the YouTube world, they call this number eCPM which stands for effective CPM, and if you have access to YouTube analytics, you’ll be able to find it under the estimated monetized playbacks metric.

If you don’t have YouTube Analytics, you can estimate your eCPM by dividing your most recent earnings by the number of monetized views and then multiplying by 1,000. For example, if you got 10,000 views of a video and earned $30, then your CPM would be $3.

There are a number of factors that affect what your CPM is, including what category it’s in, what the season is (e.g. Christmas, Halloween), what language you speak, which country you’re from, how much competition there is and much more. As an average, most advertisers are paying in the region of $7.60 per 1,000 impressions, although this can be as high as $15 or as low as $0.10.

But that’s not the whole story.

Of course, YouTube needs to make money too, so don’t expect to see all of that $7.60 popped into your AdSense account. Google keeps 45 percent of all YouTube advertising revenue, so you’ll get the other 55 per cent. If you were earning that average $7.60, your actual earnings would be $4.18 per 1,000 views.

As your subscriber numbers rise and your daily views rise, so will your CPM, so don’t get disheartened if you’ve discovered you’re on $2 or worse. Keep plugging away and building your fan base, and you’ll get there in the end.

It’s important to realize that, for most new channels, they’ll need to post videos for around two years before they start earning anything significant. If you’re just getting started on YouTube, find your niche and make sure it’s one that advertisers care about. Get it right, and you’ll have a highly targeted audience base which advertisers are willing to pay good money to use.

Part 5: How to Join the YouTube Partner Platform

If you’ve had a go with the YouTube money calculator and are excited about the potential to make money from YouTube, the next thing you’ll need to do is to sign up for the partner program. Here’s how:

     * **Find out if you qualify**: You'll need to be 18 or over and to have had at least 4,000 views on your channel and 1,000 subscribers in the past 12 months
     * **Enable monetization on your account**: Sign in, select 'creator studio', then go to Channel > Status features. Look for the tab for Monetization and click to enable.
     * **Agree to the terms**: Once you've read and agreed to them, click accept
     * **Choose monetizing options**: Pick from overlay in the video, TrueView in-stream ads or video contains product placement. You can always change this later.
     * **Confirm enrolment**: Click 'monetize my videos' to confirm enrolment

Once you’ve done all that, YouTube will review your application and decide if you can join the program. Usually, this happens within a matter of seconds, generating confirmation via email. Your account will now have ‘Partner Verified’ on it, and your chosen ads will start being displayed immediately.

Part 6: Making Money on YouTube

We’ve all been seduced by the big hitters on YouTube, from PewDiePie to Lilly Singh, and have imagined that we’ll be the next YouTube millionaire. However, the reality is that 99 per cent of those on YouTube are earning peanuts for the effort they put into their channels from these advertising streams.

However, there are other ways to make money on YouTube. It makes sense not to put all your eggs in one basket, so alongside ads and growing your fanbase, we’ve come up with a number of other ways to monetize your YouTube channel and estimate how much your video can make.

author avatar

Shanoon Cox

Shanoon Cox is a writer and a lover of all things video.

Follow @Shanoon Cox

Shanoon Cox

Mar 27, 2024• Proven solutions

Most YouTubers get started simply because they love to make videos, to be the center of attention, and to have such a creative outlet for their ideas. However, for almost all YouTubers, their mind will soon turn to whether they can make money from YouTube , and how much they could be making.

If you’re curious about how much money you could make from your channel, or just want to see what the potential is for creating a revenue stream once you’ve built your audience, we’ve got just the thing for you. We’ve developed this YouTube Money Calculator, a simple tool that lets you see at a glance how much you could be earning from your videos and channel. And we will also introduce some YouTube Money Calculator alternatives to you.

Table of Content:

You May Also Like: YouTube SEO Complete Guide

Let’s take a look at the YouTube Money Calculator now and explore your potential for generating income from your passion for YouTube.

Part 1: What’s a CPM and How Do YouTube Money Calculators Average It Out?

CPM stands for ‘cost per mille/thousand’ and is the price of a thousand ad impressions (to the advertiser. For the creator, this is the amount of money they make per thousand ad impressions).

YouTube calculators will never be able to know the CPM for a YouTube channel as the rates vary for different channels and different ads. Disclosing your CPM is against the rules, so there’s not a lot of information out there to go on.

However, by taking an average of some of the current CPM rates from advertisers on YouTube, calculators are able to average out what a YouTube channel could be making. Keep in mind that, usually, the numbers that they use can be a bit on the high side compared to actual earnings. At times, though, these calculators can be very close.

Part 2: The Free YouTube Money Calculator

The YouTube Money Calculator is a free calculator tool that allows you to estimate the money obtained from any YouTube video. Calculations are entirely based on the number of views and an average CPM of $2 - $5. A user just needs to insert the total number of video views that they think they can get or that another channel has to discover how much a person could earn or be earning.

If you don’t know your CPM yet, don’t worry because our tool can give you an estimated revenue calculation based on a commonly accepted range of CPM figures for your views. Using this number, the YouTube Money Calculator can give you potential revenue by video as well as by channel on a daily, monthly, and yearly basis. Let’s take a look:

1. Estimated YouTube Revenue by Videos

To use YouTube Money Calculator to get an estimated calculation of your revenue for a single video, simply set the number of views you get per day (or hope to get) and the CPM rates. If you don’t know your CPM, the tool will automatically select a typical range based on the number of views.

From here you can start to play around and see what the impact could be of a different number of views and different CPM range. Do keep in mind that these figures are estimated, and there are many factors that come into play to determine your final CPM rate.

If you want to go deeper into your research and discover how much revenue a specific video could make, you can simply paste in the URL of the video you want to investigate, and the YouTube Money Calculator will show you the results. These will be presented as the number of total video views as well as the estimated earnings for that video based on typical CPM rates, making it a great resource to establish whether to monetize a video or not.

2. Estimated YouTube Revenue by Channel

If you’d like a more complete view of your YouTube earnings potential, why not investigate the revenue possibilities for the whole channel? Simply paste your channel link into the box and our tool will estimate how much you could be earning if you monetize that channel.

As well as showing this, the tool will show all sorts of other useful information such as number of total views, number of subscribers, number of uploaded videos and even your country and category. It’s a great place to start to evaluate your efforts and to get a realistic idea of what your earnings could be.

Part 3: Free YouTube Money Calculator Alternatives

Some of the best YouTube Money Calculator alternatives available are:

1. How Social Blade Calculates YouTube Money

Social Blade delivers a calculation based on a CPM rate between .25 cents and $4 USD. Users need only type in the name of the channel they are interested in and Social Blade will deliver all kinds of information about that channel, like how many subscribers and views it received in the last 30 days. It will also include estimates of monthly and yearly earnings. The revenue results are adjusted based off of the overall size of the channel and the total number of views that they receive each day. You can even scroll down for estimates of daily earnings listed by date.

2. How Influencer Marketing Hub Calculates YouTube Money

Influencer Marketing Hub is almost like an active infographic that allows a user to very quickly adjust sliders based on the daily video views, active engagement, views per month, and views per year.

Part 4: How is YouTube Partner Money Calculated?

YouTube partner money is calculated using something called the CPM. Your CPM, if you’re new to YouTube and partner advertising, is likely to be quite low, but can be built up over time.

CPM is actually a term for advertisers rather than content creators, as it denotes the amount an advertiser pays to serve its ad to 1,000 views of a video. What you really want to know is your RPM, or revenue per thousand, which is about how much you’ll get paid for 1,000 views of that ad. In the YouTube world, they call this number eCPM which stands for effective CPM, and if you have access to YouTube analytics, you’ll be able to find it under the estimated monetized playbacks metric.

If you don’t have YouTube Analytics, you can estimate your eCPM by dividing your most recent earnings by the number of monetized views and then multiplying by 1,000. For example, if you got 10,000 views of a video and earned $30, then your CPM would be $3.

There are a number of factors that affect what your CPM is, including what category it’s in, what the season is (e.g. Christmas, Halloween), what language you speak, which country you’re from, how much competition there is and much more. As an average, most advertisers are paying in the region of $7.60 per 1,000 impressions, although this can be as high as $15 or as low as $0.10.

But that’s not the whole story.

Of course, YouTube needs to make money too, so don’t expect to see all of that $7.60 popped into your AdSense account. Google keeps 45 percent of all YouTube advertising revenue, so you’ll get the other 55 per cent. If you were earning that average $7.60, your actual earnings would be $4.18 per 1,000 views.

As your subscriber numbers rise and your daily views rise, so will your CPM, so don’t get disheartened if you’ve discovered you’re on $2 or worse. Keep plugging away and building your fan base, and you’ll get there in the end.

It’s important to realize that, for most new channels, they’ll need to post videos for around two years before they start earning anything significant. If you’re just getting started on YouTube, find your niche and make sure it’s one that advertisers care about. Get it right, and you’ll have a highly targeted audience base which advertisers are willing to pay good money to use.

Part 5: How to Join the YouTube Partner Platform

If you’ve had a go with the YouTube money calculator and are excited about the potential to make money from YouTube, the next thing you’ll need to do is to sign up for the partner program. Here’s how:

     * **Find out if you qualify**: You'll need to be 18 or over and to have had at least 4,000 views on your channel and 1,000 subscribers in the past 12 months
     * **Enable monetization on your account**: Sign in, select 'creator studio', then go to Channel > Status features. Look for the tab for Monetization and click to enable.
     * **Agree to the terms**: Once you've read and agreed to them, click accept
     * **Choose monetizing options**: Pick from overlay in the video, TrueView in-stream ads or video contains product placement. You can always change this later.
     * **Confirm enrolment**: Click 'monetize my videos' to confirm enrolment

Once you’ve done all that, YouTube will review your application and decide if you can join the program. Usually, this happens within a matter of seconds, generating confirmation via email. Your account will now have ‘Partner Verified’ on it, and your chosen ads will start being displayed immediately.

Part 6: Making Money on YouTube

We’ve all been seduced by the big hitters on YouTube, from PewDiePie to Lilly Singh, and have imagined that we’ll be the next YouTube millionaire. However, the reality is that 99 per cent of those on YouTube are earning peanuts for the effort they put into their channels from these advertising streams.

However, there are other ways to make money on YouTube. It makes sense not to put all your eggs in one basket, so alongside ads and growing your fanbase, we’ve come up with a number of other ways to monetize your YouTube channel and estimate how much your video can make.

author avatar

Shanoon Cox

Shanoon Cox is a writer and a lover of all things video.

Follow @Shanoon Cox

Shanoon Cox

Mar 27, 2024• Proven solutions

Most YouTubers get started simply because they love to make videos, to be the center of attention, and to have such a creative outlet for their ideas. However, for almost all YouTubers, their mind will soon turn to whether they can make money from YouTube , and how much they could be making.

If you’re curious about how much money you could make from your channel, or just want to see what the potential is for creating a revenue stream once you’ve built your audience, we’ve got just the thing for you. We’ve developed this YouTube Money Calculator, a simple tool that lets you see at a glance how much you could be earning from your videos and channel. And we will also introduce some YouTube Money Calculator alternatives to you.

Table of Content:

You May Also Like: YouTube SEO Complete Guide

Let’s take a look at the YouTube Money Calculator now and explore your potential for generating income from your passion for YouTube.

Part 1: What’s a CPM and How Do YouTube Money Calculators Average It Out?

CPM stands for ‘cost per mille/thousand’ and is the price of a thousand ad impressions (to the advertiser. For the creator, this is the amount of money they make per thousand ad impressions).

YouTube calculators will never be able to know the CPM for a YouTube channel as the rates vary for different channels and different ads. Disclosing your CPM is against the rules, so there’s not a lot of information out there to go on.

However, by taking an average of some of the current CPM rates from advertisers on YouTube, calculators are able to average out what a YouTube channel could be making. Keep in mind that, usually, the numbers that they use can be a bit on the high side compared to actual earnings. At times, though, these calculators can be very close.

Part 2: The Free YouTube Money Calculator

The YouTube Money Calculator is a free calculator tool that allows you to estimate the money obtained from any YouTube video. Calculations are entirely based on the number of views and an average CPM of $2 - $5. A user just needs to insert the total number of video views that they think they can get or that another channel has to discover how much a person could earn or be earning.

If you don’t know your CPM yet, don’t worry because our tool can give you an estimated revenue calculation based on a commonly accepted range of CPM figures for your views. Using this number, the YouTube Money Calculator can give you potential revenue by video as well as by channel on a daily, monthly, and yearly basis. Let’s take a look:

1. Estimated YouTube Revenue by Videos

To use YouTube Money Calculator to get an estimated calculation of your revenue for a single video, simply set the number of views you get per day (or hope to get) and the CPM rates. If you don’t know your CPM, the tool will automatically select a typical range based on the number of views.

From here you can start to play around and see what the impact could be of a different number of views and different CPM range. Do keep in mind that these figures are estimated, and there are many factors that come into play to determine your final CPM rate.

If you want to go deeper into your research and discover how much revenue a specific video could make, you can simply paste in the URL of the video you want to investigate, and the YouTube Money Calculator will show you the results. These will be presented as the number of total video views as well as the estimated earnings for that video based on typical CPM rates, making it a great resource to establish whether to monetize a video or not.

2. Estimated YouTube Revenue by Channel

If you’d like a more complete view of your YouTube earnings potential, why not investigate the revenue possibilities for the whole channel? Simply paste your channel link into the box and our tool will estimate how much you could be earning if you monetize that channel.

As well as showing this, the tool will show all sorts of other useful information such as number of total views, number of subscribers, number of uploaded videos and even your country and category. It’s a great place to start to evaluate your efforts and to get a realistic idea of what your earnings could be.

Part 3: Free YouTube Money Calculator Alternatives

Some of the best YouTube Money Calculator alternatives available are:

1. How Social Blade Calculates YouTube Money

Social Blade delivers a calculation based on a CPM rate between .25 cents and $4 USD. Users need only type in the name of the channel they are interested in and Social Blade will deliver all kinds of information about that channel, like how many subscribers and views it received in the last 30 days. It will also include estimates of monthly and yearly earnings. The revenue results are adjusted based off of the overall size of the channel and the total number of views that they receive each day. You can even scroll down for estimates of daily earnings listed by date.

2. How Influencer Marketing Hub Calculates YouTube Money

Influencer Marketing Hub is almost like an active infographic that allows a user to very quickly adjust sliders based on the daily video views, active engagement, views per month, and views per year.

Part 4: How is YouTube Partner Money Calculated?

YouTube partner money is calculated using something called the CPM. Your CPM, if you’re new to YouTube and partner advertising, is likely to be quite low, but can be built up over time.

CPM is actually a term for advertisers rather than content creators, as it denotes the amount an advertiser pays to serve its ad to 1,000 views of a video. What you really want to know is your RPM, or revenue per thousand, which is about how much you’ll get paid for 1,000 views of that ad. In the YouTube world, they call this number eCPM which stands for effective CPM, and if you have access to YouTube analytics, you’ll be able to find it under the estimated monetized playbacks metric.

If you don’t have YouTube Analytics, you can estimate your eCPM by dividing your most recent earnings by the number of monetized views and then multiplying by 1,000. For example, if you got 10,000 views of a video and earned $30, then your CPM would be $3.

There are a number of factors that affect what your CPM is, including what category it’s in, what the season is (e.g. Christmas, Halloween), what language you speak, which country you’re from, how much competition there is and much more. As an average, most advertisers are paying in the region of $7.60 per 1,000 impressions, although this can be as high as $15 or as low as $0.10.

But that’s not the whole story.

Of course, YouTube needs to make money too, so don’t expect to see all of that $7.60 popped into your AdSense account. Google keeps 45 percent of all YouTube advertising revenue, so you’ll get the other 55 per cent. If you were earning that average $7.60, your actual earnings would be $4.18 per 1,000 views.

As your subscriber numbers rise and your daily views rise, so will your CPM, so don’t get disheartened if you’ve discovered you’re on $2 or worse. Keep plugging away and building your fan base, and you’ll get there in the end.

It’s important to realize that, for most new channels, they’ll need to post videos for around two years before they start earning anything significant. If you’re just getting started on YouTube, find your niche and make sure it’s one that advertisers care about. Get it right, and you’ll have a highly targeted audience base which advertisers are willing to pay good money to use.

Part 5: How to Join the YouTube Partner Platform

If you’ve had a go with the YouTube money calculator and are excited about the potential to make money from YouTube, the next thing you’ll need to do is to sign up for the partner program. Here’s how:

     * **Find out if you qualify**: You'll need to be 18 or over and to have had at least 4,000 views on your channel and 1,000 subscribers in the past 12 months
     * **Enable monetization on your account**: Sign in, select 'creator studio', then go to Channel > Status features. Look for the tab for Monetization and click to enable.
     * **Agree to the terms**: Once you've read and agreed to them, click accept
     * **Choose monetizing options**: Pick from overlay in the video, TrueView in-stream ads or video contains product placement. You can always change this later.
     * **Confirm enrolment**: Click 'monetize my videos' to confirm enrolment

Once you’ve done all that, YouTube will review your application and decide if you can join the program. Usually, this happens within a matter of seconds, generating confirmation via email. Your account will now have ‘Partner Verified’ on it, and your chosen ads will start being displayed immediately.

Part 6: Making Money on YouTube

We’ve all been seduced by the big hitters on YouTube, from PewDiePie to Lilly Singh, and have imagined that we’ll be the next YouTube millionaire. However, the reality is that 99 per cent of those on YouTube are earning peanuts for the effort they put into their channels from these advertising streams.

However, there are other ways to make money on YouTube. It makes sense not to put all your eggs in one basket, so alongside ads and growing your fanbase, we’ve come up with a number of other ways to monetize your YouTube channel and estimate how much your video can make.

author avatar

Shanoon Cox

Shanoon Cox is a writer and a lover of all things video.

Follow @Shanoon Cox

Shanoon Cox

Mar 27, 2024• Proven solutions

Most YouTubers get started simply because they love to make videos, to be the center of attention, and to have such a creative outlet for their ideas. However, for almost all YouTubers, their mind will soon turn to whether they can make money from YouTube , and how much they could be making.

If you’re curious about how much money you could make from your channel, or just want to see what the potential is for creating a revenue stream once you’ve built your audience, we’ve got just the thing for you. We’ve developed this YouTube Money Calculator, a simple tool that lets you see at a glance how much you could be earning from your videos and channel. And we will also introduce some YouTube Money Calculator alternatives to you.

Table of Content:

You May Also Like: YouTube SEO Complete Guide

Let’s take a look at the YouTube Money Calculator now and explore your potential for generating income from your passion for YouTube.

Part 1: What’s a CPM and How Do YouTube Money Calculators Average It Out?

CPM stands for ‘cost per mille/thousand’ and is the price of a thousand ad impressions (to the advertiser. For the creator, this is the amount of money they make per thousand ad impressions).

YouTube calculators will never be able to know the CPM for a YouTube channel as the rates vary for different channels and different ads. Disclosing your CPM is against the rules, so there’s not a lot of information out there to go on.

However, by taking an average of some of the current CPM rates from advertisers on YouTube, calculators are able to average out what a YouTube channel could be making. Keep in mind that, usually, the numbers that they use can be a bit on the high side compared to actual earnings. At times, though, these calculators can be very close.

Part 2: The Free YouTube Money Calculator

The YouTube Money Calculator is a free calculator tool that allows you to estimate the money obtained from any YouTube video. Calculations are entirely based on the number of views and an average CPM of $2 - $5. A user just needs to insert the total number of video views that they think they can get or that another channel has to discover how much a person could earn or be earning.

If you don’t know your CPM yet, don’t worry because our tool can give you an estimated revenue calculation based on a commonly accepted range of CPM figures for your views. Using this number, the YouTube Money Calculator can give you potential revenue by video as well as by channel on a daily, monthly, and yearly basis. Let’s take a look:

1. Estimated YouTube Revenue by Videos

To use YouTube Money Calculator to get an estimated calculation of your revenue for a single video, simply set the number of views you get per day (or hope to get) and the CPM rates. If you don’t know your CPM, the tool will automatically select a typical range based on the number of views.

From here you can start to play around and see what the impact could be of a different number of views and different CPM range. Do keep in mind that these figures are estimated, and there are many factors that come into play to determine your final CPM rate.

If you want to go deeper into your research and discover how much revenue a specific video could make, you can simply paste in the URL of the video you want to investigate, and the YouTube Money Calculator will show you the results. These will be presented as the number of total video views as well as the estimated earnings for that video based on typical CPM rates, making it a great resource to establish whether to monetize a video or not.

2. Estimated YouTube Revenue by Channel

If you’d like a more complete view of your YouTube earnings potential, why not investigate the revenue possibilities for the whole channel? Simply paste your channel link into the box and our tool will estimate how much you could be earning if you monetize that channel.

As well as showing this, the tool will show all sorts of other useful information such as number of total views, number of subscribers, number of uploaded videos and even your country and category. It’s a great place to start to evaluate your efforts and to get a realistic idea of what your earnings could be.

Part 3: Free YouTube Money Calculator Alternatives

Some of the best YouTube Money Calculator alternatives available are:

1. How Social Blade Calculates YouTube Money

Social Blade delivers a calculation based on a CPM rate between .25 cents and $4 USD. Users need only type in the name of the channel they are interested in and Social Blade will deliver all kinds of information about that channel, like how many subscribers and views it received in the last 30 days. It will also include estimates of monthly and yearly earnings. The revenue results are adjusted based off of the overall size of the channel and the total number of views that they receive each day. You can even scroll down for estimates of daily earnings listed by date.

2. How Influencer Marketing Hub Calculates YouTube Money

Influencer Marketing Hub is almost like an active infographic that allows a user to very quickly adjust sliders based on the daily video views, active engagement, views per month, and views per year.

Part 4: How is YouTube Partner Money Calculated?

YouTube partner money is calculated using something called the CPM. Your CPM, if you’re new to YouTube and partner advertising, is likely to be quite low, but can be built up over time.

CPM is actually a term for advertisers rather than content creators, as it denotes the amount an advertiser pays to serve its ad to 1,000 views of a video. What you really want to know is your RPM, or revenue per thousand, which is about how much you’ll get paid for 1,000 views of that ad. In the YouTube world, they call this number eCPM which stands for effective CPM, and if you have access to YouTube analytics, you’ll be able to find it under the estimated monetized playbacks metric.

If you don’t have YouTube Analytics, you can estimate your eCPM by dividing your most recent earnings by the number of monetized views and then multiplying by 1,000. For example, if you got 10,000 views of a video and earned $30, then your CPM would be $3.

There are a number of factors that affect what your CPM is, including what category it’s in, what the season is (e.g. Christmas, Halloween), what language you speak, which country you’re from, how much competition there is and much more. As an average, most advertisers are paying in the region of $7.60 per 1,000 impressions, although this can be as high as $15 or as low as $0.10.

But that’s not the whole story.

Of course, YouTube needs to make money too, so don’t expect to see all of that $7.60 popped into your AdSense account. Google keeps 45 percent of all YouTube advertising revenue, so you’ll get the other 55 per cent. If you were earning that average $7.60, your actual earnings would be $4.18 per 1,000 views.

As your subscriber numbers rise and your daily views rise, so will your CPM, so don’t get disheartened if you’ve discovered you’re on $2 or worse. Keep plugging away and building your fan base, and you’ll get there in the end.

It’s important to realize that, for most new channels, they’ll need to post videos for around two years before they start earning anything significant. If you’re just getting started on YouTube, find your niche and make sure it’s one that advertisers care about. Get it right, and you’ll have a highly targeted audience base which advertisers are willing to pay good money to use.

Part 5: How to Join the YouTube Partner Platform

If you’ve had a go with the YouTube money calculator and are excited about the potential to make money from YouTube, the next thing you’ll need to do is to sign up for the partner program. Here’s how:

     * **Find out if you qualify**: You'll need to be 18 or over and to have had at least 4,000 views on your channel and 1,000 subscribers in the past 12 months
     * **Enable monetization on your account**: Sign in, select 'creator studio', then go to Channel > Status features. Look for the tab for Monetization and click to enable.
     * **Agree to the terms**: Once you've read and agreed to them, click accept
     * **Choose monetizing options**: Pick from overlay in the video, TrueView in-stream ads or video contains product placement. You can always change this later.
     * **Confirm enrolment**: Click 'monetize my videos' to confirm enrolment

Once you’ve done all that, YouTube will review your application and decide if you can join the program. Usually, this happens within a matter of seconds, generating confirmation via email. Your account will now have ‘Partner Verified’ on it, and your chosen ads will start being displayed immediately.

Part 6: Making Money on YouTube

We’ve all been seduced by the big hitters on YouTube, from PewDiePie to Lilly Singh, and have imagined that we’ll be the next YouTube millionaire. However, the reality is that 99 per cent of those on YouTube are earning peanuts for the effort they put into their channels from these advertising streams.

However, there are other ways to make money on YouTube. It makes sense not to put all your eggs in one basket, so alongside ads and growing your fanbase, we’ve come up with a number of other ways to monetize your YouTube channel and estimate how much your video can make.

author avatar

Shanoon Cox

Shanoon Cox is a writer and a lover of all things video.

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  • Title: Key Approaches to Building Effective YouTube Collaborations for 2024
  • Author: Joseph
  • Created at : 2024-05-31 13:42:20
  • Updated at : 2024-06-01 13:42:20
  • Link: https://youtube-stream.techidaily.com/key-approaches-to-building-effective-youtube-collaborations-for-2024/
  • License: This work is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0.
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Key Approaches to Building Effective YouTube Collaborations for 2024